Jump to content



Toggle shoutbox Shoutbox Open the Shoutbox in a popup

@  Mage Girl : (13 December 2018 - 09:56 AM) A wild Mage Girl appears! Hi people who may or may not remember me lol
@  Fire Blazer : (08 December 2018 - 06:57 PM) but as they say a country is made of its people so IMO FES itself is still kind of alive so long as its people still talk a bit and remember the good times XD
@  Fire Blazer : (08 December 2018 - 06:56 PM) also yeah we're alive just not the forum really lol
@  Fire Blazer : (08 December 2018 - 06:56 PM) ...?
@  Rujio : (07 December 2018 - 07:03 AM) We're just mostly not actually here
@  kirant : (06 December 2018 - 08:41 PM) We're alive. I think.
@  Ezra : (06 December 2018 - 04:25 AM) It's been AGES since I logged in last, how's FES doing?
@  Ramiel : (04 December 2018 - 04:42 AM) Yo
@  acceptance : (03 December 2018 - 05:43 PM) truly
@  Fire Blazer : (02 December 2018 - 07:42 PM) i see
@  Mig64 : (28 November 2018 - 07:58 PM) I'M PRETTY SURE SOMEONE DID SAY CAPS LOCK
@  Fire Blazer : (28 November 2018 - 01:21 AM) DID SOMEONE SAY CAPS LOCK
@  acceptance : (25 November 2018 - 11:29 PM) MY CAPS LOCK IS ALSO FUNCTIONAL
@  Cero : (19 November 2018 - 09:52 AM) woah, been a bit since ive been on here
@  Mig64 : (17 November 2018 - 03:28 PM) @kirant AND MY AXE.
@  Fire Blazer : (17 November 2018 - 07:37 AM) yo hey it's Valke. hope you're doing well. as you can see the forums are dead, but it is what it is, eh
@  xcrash1998 : (15 November 2018 - 10:05 PM) It is alright, i have nothing to complain about
@  Valke : (14 November 2018 - 10:36 AM) how are you guys doing
@  kirant : (13 November 2018 - 11:14 PM) SAME WITH ME. AND MY CAPS LOCK!
@  Valke : (13 November 2018 - 11:24 AM) I'M ALIVE

Photo

First Time Hacking: Need Help with Script

Help Script

  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Lord Calibur

Lord Calibur

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Olympus Mons, Mars
  • Interests:Video Games, Music, Philosophy, Internet Culture, Academia, Junk Food

Posted 21 June 2015 - 06:10 AM

Hello! I'm new here, semi-new to Fire Emblem in general, and have only just a couple days ago decided to pick up modding FE7. My current goal is to simply add one custom character to the original game, essentially for s<expletive deleted>'s and giggles. (If I can do that, I can probably do more, ya know? I would love to try making a full-fledge storyline hack/mod/thing.)

 

Here's my issue - I have been following this excellent guide to modding the game, and although it has been rocky and confusing, I have more or less been able to accomplish an animation script. Thing is, I try to upload the script to FEditor Adv, and it gives me "Unexpected error loading or reading the script". My assumption is that it somehow chokes on my second image, but I cannot seem to figure out why. I have tried just about everything I can think of.

 

I have spent about a day figuring this stuff out, and several hours trying to fix this glitch in my plans. I'm on the edge of giving up - I would greatly appreciate it if someone could help me!

I'll attach the folder as it currently is (albeit as a .zip, as apparently I cannot send a folder over the internet. Confounded illuminazis). The sprites I chose to use for this character test are a recolored (back to a blue) version of White-Wolf8's "Zeke Master Lord" with minor modifications, which I erroniously renamed "Vergil" (I seriously didn't care what sprite I used, so I used what looked easy enough).

I would appreciate any help or insight!



#2 Snow

Snow

    The Combat Medic

  • Veterans
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 926 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Santiago de Chile
  • Interests:Tons of stuff, figure them out yourself.

Posted 21 June 2015 - 04:36 PM

I don't really know muh about making animations so sorry if this is all wrong. Maybe try asking June since she inserted a mage animation a while back.

Umm so try maybe taking out some of the images that you are using in your script, maybe there's anpalette error in one. Given what FEditor is telling you, it might be an error in how your script it written, maybe you're missing a line of code or you have an extra line, you try takimg things out until the animation works (remeber to make back ups)?

Again sorry if this is all completely useless information, luck with hacking :).
Posted Image
Posted Image
This won't be removed until Chile wins the World Cup - Started 24/06/12
BTW, I take map requests if anyone wants to make one XD, just send me a PM and I'll most likely accept. If you wanna see some of previous work you can visit my gallery here, I'd skip to the end because I've improved alot XD.

#3 Lord Calibur

Lord Calibur

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Olympus Mons, Mars
  • Interests:Video Games, Music, Philosophy, Internet Culture, Academia, Junk Food

Posted 21 June 2015 - 06:41 PM

Thanks for the advice, Snow! I tried removing the second ("broken") image, and interestingly enough the program informed me that the next image was the problem. I took this as a sign that my standing image was fine, but the others were not - so I looked into why this is the case.
Turns out? I think it's a palette issue. The backgrounds do not appear to match perfectly, and there were some other minor hiccups. I'm still fixing it, but this seems to be making progress. Thanks!



#4 Snow

Snow

    The Combat Medic

  • Veterans
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 926 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Santiago de Chile
  • Interests:Tons of stuff, figure them out yourself.

Posted 21 June 2015 - 07:53 PM

Happy to help :)
Maybe it has to do with the palette order? Make that the palette in the top right corner is in the same order in all the images. You can also use Usenti to make sure that there are only 16 colors.
Posted Image
Posted Image
This won't be removed until Chile wins the World Cup - Started 24/06/12
BTW, I take map requests if anyone wants to make one XD, just send me a PM and I'll most likely accept. If you wanna see some of previous work you can visit my gallery here, I'd skip to the end because I've improved alot XD.

#5 Lord Calibur

Lord Calibur

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Olympus Mons, Mars
  • Interests:Video Games, Music, Philosophy, Internet Culture, Academia, Junk Food

Posted 23 June 2015 - 01:26 AM

I finally managed to fix the animation completely - it works with FEditor Adv. When the editor still had issues with the frames (despite my correcting the background), I tried your suggestion to double-check with Usenti - and it had 18 colors. Somehow, some slightly-different shades snuck in there in a few frames - I still have no idea how. Anyway, I fixed it and it works properly now (I think).
Thanks again, mate! Now to move on to the portrait and other nonsense.



#6 Lord Calibur

Lord Calibur

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Olympus Mons, Mars
  • Interests:Video Games, Music, Philosophy, Internet Culture, Academia, Junk Food

Posted 23 June 2015 - 12:38 PM

Hello again! I have a new problem (unsurprisingly).

I have completed multiple animation/scripts, a portrait, and even some text (the name of my "class" and it's description), all uploaded through FEditor Adv. For some Naga-defying reason, however, Nightmare is unwilling to recognize any of the things I put in. The "ultimate guide" does not seem to discuss this whatsoever, and I'm left here scratching my head - or at least I would if the bruises from all the facepalming/face-desking/desk-facing weren't yet tender.

The ROM itself (a copy of FE7) is already modified to have the data in it through FEditor Adv (If I open it again through FEditor, the data is still there). Nightmare opens said ROM, I apply various Modules, and it does not see the materials in question, regardless of how much vulgarity I hurl at it.

I'm sorry for bothering you guys again, but I could really use the help. I have no desire to give up (seeing as I've already sunk probably over 24 hours at this point into this, trying to accomplish one character), so please help me!


Good heavens, this seemed like an easier task before I go started. It's just one character, I said... At least it's been fun, though. I can see why people get into this.



#7 Snow

Snow

    The Combat Medic

  • Veterans
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 926 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Santiago de Chile
  • Interests:Tons of stuff, figure them out yourself.

Posted 23 June 2015 - 03:56 PM

You hit enter and save every time you make a change/are switching modules right? Also make sure not to have FEditor and Nightmare open at the same time or they will overwrite each other.


Posted Image
Posted Image
This won't be removed until Chile wins the World Cup - Started 24/06/12
BTW, I take map requests if anyone wants to make one XD, just send me a PM and I'll most likely accept. If you wanna see some of previous work you can visit my gallery here, I'd skip to the end because I've improved alot XD.

#8 Lord Calibur

Lord Calibur

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Olympus Mons, Mars
  • Interests:Video Games, Music, Philosophy, Internet Culture, Academia, Junk Food

Posted 23 June 2015 - 06:31 PM

I would save every time I switch modules, except I haven't actually changed anything (the first thing I always try to do is find my animations/images, which never show, so nothing has happened yet). And no, I am not quite so inexperienced/inebriated as to make the silly mistake of having both programs open at the same time. Alas, if only it were so simple. Thanks for the suggestion, though.

 

Is there some kind of step I'm accidentally skipping? Is there some way of telling Nightmare how to find the images, or is it supposed to detect the new images on its own? I think the problem may lay with the fact that I increased the parameters of the index in order to add in the new images/etc. How on earth would you tell Nightmare to find them, though? There must be a way.



#9 Snow

Snow

    The Combat Medic

  • Veterans
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 926 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Santiago de Chile
  • Interests:Tons of stuff, figure them out yourself.

Posted 23 June 2015 - 11:15 PM

Ooooh I get it (I think). When you inserted the new animations and thigs you replaced another animation with it correct? That's what you have to use, like if you replaced Eliwoods animation and portrait then that's what you need to use.
Posted Image
Posted Image
This won't be removed until Chile wins the World Cup - Started 24/06/12
BTW, I take map requests if anyone wants to make one XD, just send me a PM and I'll most likely accept. If you wanna see some of previous work you can visit my gallery here, I'd skip to the end because I've improved alot XD.

#10 Lord Calibur

Lord Calibur

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Olympus Mons, Mars
  • Interests:Video Games, Music, Philosophy, Internet Culture, Academia, Junk Food

Posted 24 June 2015 - 02:01 AM

I'm not certain I understand...
If I understand you correctly, I cannot simply extend the code - I have to replace something else? How unfortunate. I can probably figure that out, though.
I'll give that a shot, then - thanks again, Snow!







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Help, Script

1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users