Jump to content



Toggle shoutbox Shoutbox Open the Shoutbox in a popup

@  Oblivion Knight : (26 February 2024 - 11:30 AM) Whoa I can edit a typo. The technology.
@  Oblivion Knight : (26 February 2024 - 11:29 AM) Obligatory message.
@  Elwood : (02 January 2024 - 04:19 AM) Happy New Year!!!
@  Aaron : (13 February 2023 - 09:19 PM) I'm still out here alive. If you remember me, I hope you're doing well!
@  Aaron : (13 February 2023 - 09:09 PM) 2023 and this place is still up huhh
@  Elwood : (05 January 2023 - 07:58 AM) Ah a Christmas greeting from Wolfie! Even if I saw it way late Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to everybody!
@  Cero : (31 December 2022 - 09:27 PM) Man that bot went crazy
@  Whitewolf8 : (24 December 2022 - 10:02 AM) I return once more on the eve of Christmas to haunt you all again!... Mainly Elwood. Hello!
@  Elwood : (25 November 2022 - 04:58 AM) A bot! Ah the nostalgia!
@  Elwood : (02 November 2022 - 02:30 PM) Yo ho ho ho! Thar be the white wolf!
@  Whitewolf8 : (24 October 2022 - 12:29 AM) Well, blimey it's been a while. Hoy there! If anyone's still alive here anyway.
@  Valke : (21 April 2022 - 12:12 PM) im taking the 2nd shout of 2022 😂
@  Elwood : (03 March 2022 - 10:12 PM) Mwuhahaha! The first shout of 2022 is mine!
@  Fire Blazer : (12 November 2021 - 05:22 PM) *also stretches arms a little*
@  xcrash1998 : (07 November 2021 - 08:42 PM) "streches arms"
@  Ezra : (07 May 2021 - 05:20 AM) Maybe I'll pop on the discord soon
@  Fire Blazer : (01 April 2021 - 08:08 PM) Aaaaaaand done~ :P
@  xcrash1998 : (29 March 2021 - 08:52 AM) I guess we are one more post away from counting to 2500
@  Fire Blazer : (10 March 2021 - 11:39 PM) but I have bad memory and can't remember ;(
@  Elwood : (15 February 2021 - 10:23 AM) I'd like to but I've told you about my issues with discord before.

Photo

Sent back to main menu after turn 1 - custom events


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 polaris

polaris

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

Posted 02 February 2018 - 04:29 AM

I've been playing with the fire emblem modding tools for a few days now, and I finally got around to writing custom events. I Injected the event into my own custom map, and it loads up fine: All the units I placed are there, everything works, I can attack enemies, etc. But, after turn 1 is finished (as in both player and enemy parties have finished their first actions) the game goes back to the main menu. I can't for the life of me figure out what the issue is.

 

Here's the event I wrote, nothing special, just a custom test map with some random enemies, no cut scenes or anything:

 

 

 

#define DISABLE_TUTORIALS
#include EAstdlib.event
 
EventPointerTable(0x06,Pointers)
 
ORG 0xD80000
 
Pointers:
POIN Turn_events
POIN Character_events
POIN Location_events
POIN Misc_events
POIN TrapData TrapData
POIN Bad Bad Bad Bad
POIN Good Good Good Good
POIN Opening_event Ending_event
 
Good:
UNIT 0x03 0x02 0x00 Level(3, Ally, 1) [16,11] [16,11] [0x0A, 0x6B] NoAI
UNIT 0x61 0x0A 0x03 Level(3, Ally, 1) [16,11] [17,10] [0x05, 0x6B] NoAI
UNIT 0x61 0x2A 0x03 Level(1, Ally, 1) [16,11] [15,10] [0x03, 0x21] NoAI
UNIT 0x61 0x20 0x03 Level(3, Ally, 1) [16,11] [17,12] [0x37, 0x6B] NoAI
UNIT 0x61 0x12 0x03 Level(4, Ally, 1) [16,11] [18,11] [0x26, 0x28] NoAI
UNIT
 
Bad:
UNIT 0x61 0x16 0x00 Level(1, Enemy, 1) [3,1] [3,1] [0x16, 0x20] [GuardTile]
UNIT 0x5F 0x1D 0x00 Level(4, Enemy, 1) [5,1] [5,1] [0x4D] [Heal]
UNIT 0x5F 0x14 0x00 Level(2, Enemy, 1) [4,4] [4,4] [0x14] [AttackInRange]
UNIT 0x5F 0x14 0x00 Level(2, Enemy, 1) [2,4] [2,4] [0x14] [AttackInRange]
UNIT 0x5F 0x14 0x00 Level(2, Enemy, 1) [10,8] [10,8] [0x14] [AttackInRange]
UNIT 0x5F 0x39 0x00 Level(2, Enemy, 1) [15,7] [15,7] [0x1F] [AttackInRange]
UNIT 0x5F 0x39 0x00 Level(2, Enemy, 1) [17,8] [17,8] [0x1F] [AttackInRange]
UNIT 0x5F 0x39 0x00 Level(2, Enemy, 1) [10,2] [10,2] [0x1F] [AttackInRange]
UNIT 0x5F 0x38 0x00 Level(3, Enemy, 1) [9,12] [9,12] [0x14] [AttackInRange]
UNIT 0x5F 0x38 0x00 Level(3, Enemy, 1) [9,10] [9,10] [0x14] [AttackInRange]
UNIT 0x5F 0x38 0x00 Level(3, Enemy, 1) [2,8] [2,8] [0x14] [AttackInRange]
UNIT 0x5F 0x38 0x00 Level(3, Enemy, 1) [4,8] [4,8] [0x14] [AttackInRange]
UNIT 0x5F 0x0A 0x00 Level(3, Enemy, 1) [2,12] [2,12] [0x01] [AttackInRange]
UNIT 0x5F 0x13 0x00 Level(1, Enemy, 1) [15,2] [15,2] [0x1F] [AttackInRange]
UNIT 0x5F 0x18 0x00 Level(2, Enemy, 1) [13,0] [13,0] [0x32] [AttackInRange]
UNIT 0x5F 0x28 0x00 Level(3, Enemy, 1) [11,5] [11,5] [0x15, 0x02] [AttackInRange]
UNIT
 
Turn_events:
TurnEventPlayer(0x0,Opening_event,1)
End_MAIN
 
Character_events:
End_MAIN
 
Location_events:
End_MAIN
 
Misc_events:
CauseGameOverIfLordDies
End_MAIN
 
TrapData:
End_MAIN
 
Opening_event:
OOBB
LOU1 Good
ENUN
LOU1 Bad
ENUN
ENDA
 
Ending_event:
ENDA
 
// Events
 
// Manual Movement
 
// Scripted Fights
 
// Units
 
// Shop Data
 
MESSAGE Events end at offset currentOffset

 

 



#2 xcrash1998

xcrash1998

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 81 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Smash4, Computer Science(Programming),Drawing and Fire Emblem Hacking

Posted 04 February 2018 - 10:08 AM

That is weird but there is something wrong with the Heal AI of the cleric or how it is defined

 

you can try to look for a similar command or just let the cleric sit around the boss healing the allys nearby

 

UNIT 0x5F 0x1D 0x00 Level(4, Enemy, 1) [5,5] [5,3] [0x4D] Heal

 

This line is causing the problem, the Heal at the end is what makes the game reset.

 

And don't need to put [ ] for the AI, it is already put there in the definition.

(since you used a custom map change the coordinates of where the enemy stand)

 

UNIT 0x5F 0x1D 0x00 Level(4, Enemy, 1) [5,5] [5,3] [0x4D] NoAI

 

This line works as I removed the Heal at the end and replaced it.



#3 polaris

polaris

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

Posted 04 February 2018 - 05:10 PM

That mostly worked. Removing all the AI removed the crash, but for some reason, the assembler wouldn't recognize any AI definitions other than NoAI, and would give me an error when assembling. I tried to fix this but can't seem to do it, but writing the AI out without definitions (i.e. [03030920] for "GuardTile") seems to work just fine.

 

If you know the issue here then that's great, as it will make it easier, but if you don't its fine, since it works at least.

 

Thanks



#4 Fire Blazer

Fire Blazer

    You ready?

  • Creator
  • 12,103 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:U.S.A.
  • Interests:Too many to list. =P

Posted 04 February 2018 - 05:15 PM

I don't know the issue but I'd look into the definitions themselves, try to find the definitions file/make sure it's there and not corrupted somehow I guess, and also post the error that it gives when assembling since that might give a hint as to what's going on


Bblazer2.png

Signature thanks to Shu.


#5 polaris

polaris

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

Posted 04 February 2018 - 08:16 PM

When I try to assemble the event while using definitions (without the brackets) This happens:

 

https://imgur.com/a/gMJAb

 

of course, if I put them in brackets, I get no error, but the game will instantly soft reset itself after turn 1.



#6 xcrash1998

xcrash1998

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 81 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Smash4, Computer Science(Programming),Drawing and Fire Emblem Hacking

Posted 04 February 2018 - 08:46 PM

Why is it only two lines in the error message? did you only change these to test it?

 

I just noticed what is that line

 

#ifdef OLD_AI

 

did you add it in or was that there, I don't have in my text file of definitions

 

And also can you paste your code again with what you did in that assembly.

 

And don't worry the beginning is always like this you will just be asking question and at some point you will be the one answering them

take me as an example.



#7 polaris

polaris

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

Posted 04 February 2018 - 10:18 PM

I didn't add the #ifdef OLD_AI line, it was in there when I got it. I removed it, but I'm not sure if that helps anything.

 

I made a new event, much smaller and a little more simple in order to make it easier to troubleshoot:

 

#define DISABLE_TUTORIALS
 
#include EAstdlib.event
 
EventPointerTable(0x06,Pointers)
 
ORG 0xD80000
 
Pointers:
 
POIN Turn_events
 
POIN Character_events
 
POIN Location_events
 
POIN Misc_events
 
POIN TrapData TrapData
 
POIN Bad Bad Bad Bad
 
POIN Good Good Good Good
 
POIN Opening_event Ending_event
 
Good:
UNIT 0x03 0x02 0x00 Level(4, Ally, 1) [12,2] [12,2] [0x0A, 0x6B] NoAI
UNIT 0x2C 0x16 0x00 Level(1, Ally, 1) [12,2] [13,4] [0x1D, 0x20, 0x6C] NoAI
UNIT 0x04 0x0A 0x00 Level(5, Ally, 1) [12,2] [13,6] [0x06] NoAI
UNIT 0x09 0x12 0x00 Level(5, Ally, 1) [12,2] [12,7] [0x20, 0x28, 0x6B] NoAI
UNIT
 
Bad:
UNIT 0x02 0x03 0x01 Level(7, Enemy, 1) [7,5] [7,5] [0x8D] GuardTile
UNIT 0x01 0x01 0x00 Level(7, Enemy, 1) [2,1] [2,1] [0x09] GuardTile
UNIT
 
Turn_events:
TurnEventPlayer(0x0,Opening_event,1)
End_MAIN
 
Character_events:
End_MAIN
 
Location_events:
End_MAIN
 
Misc_events:
CauseGameOverIfLordDies
End_MAIN
 
TrapData:
End_MAIN
 
Opening_event:
OOBB
LOU1 Good
ENUN
LOU1 Bad
ENUN
ENDA
 
Ending_event:
 
MNCH 0x01
 
ENDA
 
// Events
 
// Manual Movement
 
// Scripted Fights
 
// Units
 
// Shop Data
 
// Events end at offset currentOffset
 
The "GuardTile" at the end is unrecognized, despite being in the definitions file. If I put it in brackets, the error goes away, but you already know what happens then. Replacing "GuardTile" with the code it should be using, [03030920], works fine, gives no errors, and uses the correct AI for the character.


#8 xcrash1998

xcrash1998

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 81 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Smash4, Computer Science(Programming),Drawing and Fire Emblem Hacking

Posted 05 February 2018 - 09:21 AM

I am still in school, I will get to it once I am back home.

 

In the mean time could you send me your version of event assembler.

 

I think there are other definitions in there that somehow mess up another.

 

EDIT:

Ok I am getting the maybe newest version 11.1 of event assembler and will look from there



#9 xcrash1998

xcrash1998

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 81 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Smash4, Computer Science(Programming),Drawing and Fire Emblem Hacking

Posted 05 February 2018 - 04:54 PM

Boom! found it, you should probably put that #ifdefine Old_AI thing back.

 

At the end of the FE 7 definitons there are these definitons that you need to use

 

See the fifth line, "GuardTileAI" that is what you need to use in your events, you can just type GuardTileAI no need to put the numbers, just to be sure (they just recently changed it that is why it worked with my version 9.1 of event assembler).

 

Spoiler

 

There is a way to use the OLD FE 7 definitions, but at the moment I have no clue how.



#10 polaris

polaris

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

Posted 06 February 2018 - 07:53 PM

Thanks, that worked!



#11 xcrash1998

xcrash1998

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 81 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Smash4, Computer Science(Programming),Drawing and Fire Emblem Hacking

Posted 06 February 2018 - 10:04 PM

Always a pleasure to help



#12 Fire Blazer

Fire Blazer

    You ready?

  • Creator
  • 12,103 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:U.S.A.
  • Interests:Too many to list. =P

Posted 07 February 2018 - 07:04 PM

Oh, you solved it? Nice. I thought it was going to be some weird old-version new-version thing once I saw the events, but by the time I scrolled down it seems like it was fixed lol. hopefully it's not an issue again in the future!


Bblazer2.png

Signature thanks to Shu.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users